IAN LAFRENIÈRE

Au service de la population depuis plus de 30 ans, il a été policier, pompier temporaire, formateurs à l’international pour les Nations Unies et il est toujours militaire réserviste. Il a choisi de faire le saut en politique lors des élections de 2018 afin de faire partie du changement. Il représente les citoyens de la circonscription de Vachon à l’Assemblée Nationale. 

BIOGRAPHY

A native of Granby, Ian Lafrenière began his career as a police officer in 1993. He joined the SPVM's Media Relations team in 1996 and spent nearly 20 years there. He climbed the ranks from sergeant to Inspector within a communications service that he would greatly evolve. He is the face of the police organization in the context of several major events, including the ice storm, anti-motorcycle operations and the student crisis of 2012.


Holder of the rank of captain, he also has a military career. He currently holds a part-time public affairs trainer position.


Since 2013, he has been a consultant for the United Nations in order to train the security forces in communication and human rights. In this capacity, he participated in several training missions in Africa and Europe.


He acted as a temporary firefighter for the City of Mont-Saint-Hilaire for more than 10 years. He is the founding president of the Police Assistance Fund of Mirabel which, since 1993, has been helping some 300 families in need. He receives several prestigious distinctions for his community involvement.


In 2018, he decided to go into politics to be part of the change. He receives the support of the citizens of the constituency of Vachon, which he now represents in the National Assembly.

Since October 9, 2020, he has been the Minister responsible for Indigenous Affairs.

 

ROLE OF THE MEMBER

The function of deputy

Deputies are elected by universal suffrage to represent their fellow citizens. They sit in the National Assembly. The population of Quebec is represented by 125 deputies elected in as many constituencies.

The role of the deputy

As representative of the population, the deputy fulfills 3 main roles:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Legislator

The first activity of the deputy is to study, analyze and vote on bills. This role is played in several stages, in the Assembly and in parliamentary committee.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Controller

The deputy is also controller of government action. The means of control at its disposal are numerous.

CM_2018-10-16_n0_2538__PP46335.jpg

Intermediate

The member represents his fellow citizens. Every week, when he is not in the Assembly, he works in his constituency. At his office, he deals with citizens' requests.

The deputy plays the role of intermediary between his electors and the Administration. He makes sure that his community receives its fair share of public programs in health, education, employment assistance, etc.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Finally, the member promotes regional development. He promotes the needs of his constituency.

 
logoGros.png

"Par ici la democratie", the toolbox of the National Assembly, is:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • A user-friendly educational tool for the teacher

  • A reliable and credible source for history and citizenship education

  • Popular and rigorous content

  • Free and modifiable content

  • A thematic, dynamic and original timeline

  • A personal space to pin articles, photos, maps, graphics or diagrams useful for planning lessons

Visit, experience and adopt Democracy Here , the toolbox of the National Assembly!

 

VACHON

DISTRICT OF

The riding of Vachon owes its name to the great French-speaking pilot: Roméo Vachon. It covers part of the territory of the city of Longueuil, namely the borough of Saint-Hubert. Covering an area of 61.5 km2, it has 50,661 voters.

Creation
Location
Area
Population
Voters
1980
St-Hubert
61.5 km2
66,615
50 661

HISTORY

The electoral division of Vachon was created in 1980. It was then made up of the southern part of the electoral division of Taillon. It is named in honor of Joseph Pierre Roméo Vachon (1898-1954), a pioneer of Quebec aviation.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

VISIT OF THE FAMOUS R-100 AIRSHIP

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In 1930, St-Hubert airport received the famous R-100 airship . Built in the late 1920s by the British government, it was to provide links between London and the British Empire.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

As Michel Pratt, author of the complete work "Les dirigibles R-100 et R-101" (Histoire Québec editions) said, "few events in the history of Quebec have had such a strong impact as that of the came in 1930 from the R-100 airship. The media coverage was exceptional, as Bolduc said in one of his songs Tout l'monde talks about the R-100. Regionally, the flight of the R-100 is the biggest tourist event in the Montérégie. At the provincial level, it is no less prestigious than the Universal Exhibition of 1967. On the other hand, in terms of technological challenge, the interest it arouses is worldwide. "

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

To learn more about the history of Saint-Hubert, visit:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram - Gris Cercle

BIOGRAPHIE

Natif de Granby, Ian Lafrenière débute sa carrière de policier en 1993. Il se joint à l’équipe des Relations médias du SPVM en 1996 et y passe près de 20 ans. Il gravit les échelons de sergent à Inspecteur au sein d’un service des communications qu’il fera grandement évoluer. Il est le visage de l’organisation policière dans le cadre de plusieurs événements majeurs, dont la crise du verglas, les opérations anti-motards et la crise étudiante de 2012.


Détenteur du grade de capitaine, il a également une carrière de militaire. Il occupe présentement un poste à temps partiel de formateur en affaires publiques.


Depuis 2013, il est consultant pour l’Organisation des Nations unies afin de former les forces de sécurité en matière de communication et droits de l’Homme. À ce titre, il a participé à plusieurs missions de formation en Afrique et en Europe.


Il agit comme pompier temporaire à la Ville de Mont-Saint-Hilaire, et ce, pendant plus de 10 ans. Il est le président fondateur du Fonds d’aide des policiers et policières de Mirabel qui, depuis 1993, vient en aide à quelque 300 familles dans le besoin. Il reçoit plusieurs distinctions prestigieuses pour son implication communautaire. 


En 2018, il décide de se lancer en politique afin de faire partie du changement. Il reçoit l’appui des citoyens de la circonscription de Vachon, qu’il représente dorénavant à l’Assemblée nationale.

 

RÔLE DU DÉPUTÉ

La fonction de député

Les députés sont élus au suffrage universel pour représenter leurs concitoyens. Ils siègent à l'Assemblée nationale. La population du Québec est représentée par 125 députés élus dans autant de circonscriptions. 

Le rôle du député

Comme représentant de la population, le député remplit 3 rôles principaux :

Législateur

L'activité première du député est d'étudier, d'analyser et de voter les projets de loi. Ce rôle se joue en plusieurs étapes, à l'Assemblée et en commission parlementaire.

Contrôleur

Le député est aussi contrôleur de l'action gouvernementale. Les moyens de contrôle à sa disposition sont nombreux.

Intermédiaire

Le député représente ses concitoyens. Chaque semaine, lorsqu’il ne siège pas à l'Assemblée, il travaille dans sa circonscription. À son bureau, il traite les demandes des citoyens.
 

Le député exerce un rôle d'intermédiaire entre ses électeurs et l'Administration. Il s'assure que sa communauté reçoit sa juste part des programmes publics en santé, en éducation, sur le plan de l'aide à l'emploi, etc.

Enfin, le député fait la promotion du développement régional. Il fait valoir les besoins de sa circonscription.

 
logoGros.png

« Par ici la démocratie », la boîte à outils de l'Assemblée nationale, c'est :

  • Un outil pédagogique convivial pour l'enseignant

  • Une source fiable et crédible pour l'histoire et l'éducation à la citoyenneté

  • Du contenu vulgarisé et rigoureux

  • Des contenus libres et modifiables

  • Une ligne du temps thématique, dynamique et originale

  • Un espace personnel permettant d'épingler articles, photos, cartes, graphiques ou schémas utiles à la planification des cours
     

Visitez, expérimentez et adoptez Par ici la démocratie, la boîte à outils de l'Assemblée nationale !

 

VACHON

CIRCONSCRIPTION DE

La circonscription de Vachon doit son nom au grand pilote francophone : Roméo Vachon. Elle couvre une partie du territoire de la ville de Longueuil, soit l'arrondissement de Saint-Hubert. D’une superficie de 61,5 km2, elle compte 50 661 électeurs.

Création
Localisation 
Superficie
Population
Électeurs
1980
St-Hubert
61,5 km2
66 615 
50 661 

HISTOIRE

La circonscription de Vachon est créée en 1980. Elle est alors formée de la partie sud de la circonscription de Taillon. Elle est nommée en l’honneur de Joseph Pierre Roméo Vachon (1898-1954), pionnier de l'aviation québécoise.

VISITE DU CÉLÈBRE DIRIGEABLE R-100

En 1930, l’aéroport de St-Hubert reçoit le célèbre dirigeable R-100. Construit à la fin des années 1920 par le gouvernement britannique, il devait assurer des liaisons entre Londres et l'Empire britannique.

Comme le disait Michel Pratt, auteur de l’ouvrage complet "Les dirigeables R-100 et R-101" (éditions Histoire Québec), « peu d’événements dans l’histoire du Québec ont connu un retentissement aussi fort que celui de la venue en 1930 du dirigeable R-100. La couverture médiatique fut exceptionnelle, comme le disait la Bolduc dans une de ses chansons Tout l’monde parle du R-100. Sur le plan régional, le vol du R-100 est le plus grand événement touristique de la Montérégie. Au niveau provincial, il n’est pas moins prestigieux que l’Exposition universelle de 1967. D’autre part, en termes de défi technologique, l’intérêt qu’il suscite est mondial. »

Pour en apprendre plus sur l’histoire de Saint-Hubert, visitez :